Trans-Antarctica on The New Flesh


One of my older stories, Trans-Antarctica, is live today on The New Flesh ezine.

You can click the link HERE to go to the site and read the story, or alternatively its available in the stories section of this site, for your enjoyment.

Trans-Antarctica came about as a result of a flash fiction challenge on a writers site that I used to use. The prompt was simply “Train”.

I started off with the idea of something being loose on a train. Something with large pointy teeth and a bad attitude that slaughters the passengers.

Now, if I was on a train that had a monster on it, using the passengers as chew toys, the obvious course of action would be to jump off and take your chances with the fall. I was not going to let my characters get off that easily, so I made the environment at least as bad as the monster. Hence the Trans-Antarctic bullet train from Sydney to Buenos Ares was born.

And the ending…well, you know me. I like to throw the occasional surprise into the mix.

Hope you enjoy it. If you do, then check out some of my other, older work in the stories section.

As ever, feedback is gratefully received

~ by graemereynolds on May 17, 2010.

2 Responses to “Trans-Antarctica on The New Flesh”

  1. I remember this from before. Very good and as you say nice twist at the end.

  2. Graeme! I’ve just come from reading the FitD story today. You both have thoroughly freaked me out. *squirms*

    Although, there is something different about your horror than others. I don’t know how to describe it. It’s like you tap into a deeper vein of fear. Atleast for me it’s like that. Ever since that WereChicken story.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,248 other followers

