Playing with Fire published on Flashes in the Dark


Its been a while since I had anything new to say on here. This blog is largely about my writing and the simple fact is that, for a few months, I haven’t done much of that.

Maybe my muse was still harbouring resentment for the comments made in an earlier post. Maybe it was the combination of home and work responsibilities along with the release of Halo: Reach on the Xbox 360 that prevented me from really writing anything new.

What I think was happening was I developed a fear of writing.

I know – that sounds stupid, but in all honesty, that is what happened.

I was able to start a couple of shorts. Both of them had promise, and were coming along quite well. Then, as I got to the good parts, I froze. Procrastinated. Played the scene over and over in my mind, searching for ways to make it better, but never actually writing the damn thing. I was scared that whatever came out of my keyboard would never be able to do the scene justice. In my mind the scene was perfect, but the act of taking it and trying to nail it down with mere words would somehow lessen it.

It got to the point where, after a couple of months of this, where I had to make a decision. I had to get over this, start writing again and push past the barrier in my mind, or give the whole damn thing up and find something else to do with my spare time.

Fortunately, I went down the first path. I joined a local writing group, and everyone was given the challenge of writing a flash fiction story for the next meeting. It was just what I needed. I took a germ of an idea I had back at WHC2010 and just sat down, wrote the thing and then did a quick edit and subbed it. Lori at Flashes in the Dark got back to me pretty quickly with an acceptance and I was back in the game. I was a writer again, instead of a wannabee.

I had forgotten the golden rule of being a writer. You need to actually write. It does not matter if you produce garbage on that first draft, because you can go back and sort that out later. What is important is getting your creativity flowing, and unearthing the story that wants to be told.

Anyway, apologies for the long rambling post.

The story that unclogged the pipes, so to speak, is up on Flashes in the Dark today.

You can read it HERE

~ by graemereynolds on January 21, 2011.

One Response to “Playing with Fire published on Flashes in the Dark”

  1. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Lori Titus, Graeme Reynolds. Graeme Reynolds said: Playing with Fire published on Flashes in the Dark: http://wp.me/pBQsu-4g [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,350 other followers

