WHC 2010 – Day 1 Report


Day one of the 2010 World Horror Convention in Brighton UK – what can I say…
Its my first time at one of these things, and once my room mate finally arrived at my house (an hour and a half late), we set off on the three and a bit hour drive from the sunny south west of england, to Brighton which was in the middle of a thunderstorm when we arrived.
Loaded up with painkillers, I had to wonder at the reality of everything I was experiencing from the second I walked into the hotel, as Ellen Datlow was queueing directly behind me at the check in. Sitting in the bar while I waited for the rooms to be sorted out was equally surreal as I watched the likes of Ramsey Campbell chatting to Brian Lumley. A tad intimidating to be sure.
Wasting no time, I headed straight to the Pitch Black rights fair, and chatted with two publishers and an agent about my novel in progress, all of whom seemed to like the concept. The agent even took the first few chapters away with him to read, while the publishers gave me cards and told me to send it in when it had finished. Wow!
I attended a panel with advice for new writers, hung out in the bar with the likes of Tim Lebbon, listened to a reading by Sarah Pinborough and finished off the night listening to Ramsey Campbell reading two unpublished ghost stories to a packed room.
The convention is off to a great start. More updates to follow tomorrow

~ by graemereynolds on March 26, 2010.

One Response to “WHC 2010 – Day 1 Report”

  1. Fantastic Graeme!!! Thank you very much for sharing.

Leave a Reply

 
