The end?


It’s been a hell of a long slog, but this afternoon I finished a two and a half year journey. I completed the first draft of High Moor.

There have been times when I never thought I would manage it. Months where I lost interest on the novel and worked on short stories instead. Even more months where I did nothing, unable to find the time to write among the distractions of my day to day life.

I’ve been told to pat myself on the back, take a break and enjoy the fact that I have actually written a novel. Unfortunately, I can’t do that. Not yet.

Everything I read on the subject tells me that self-publishing is the way to go with this book. A year ago, I would have laughed at the suggestion. Not any more.

So, I’m going to see if I can get my second draft done inside of the next two weeks. The first few chapters need a lot of work. My writing style has evolved since I wrote those first few words, and I need to make my voice consistent throughout.

Once I’m happy with that, the book will go off to some beta readers. Then to a freelance copy editor to fix any punctuation or grammatical errors that I’ve missed.

The final cover is done. Check it out below.

I still have to write the blurb, which is proving harder than the novel in some respects. I still have to get a tax certificate from the US treasury so that Amazon don’t hit me with a 30% tax on every sale. I still need to format my word document into something suitable for all ebook formats and a print edition.

The end? Not even close, but I’m excited about the next few months, and I can’t wait for the book to get out there and see what people think.

~ by graemereynolds on August 6, 2011.

6 Responses to “The end?”

  1. Congratulations, Graeme! Love the cover. Now of course, the hard part. Rewrites are a bitch, but hang in there. It’s worth it. And don’t worry, formatting isn’t as hard as everyone makes it out to be.

    • Thanks Keri. Its a learning experience for sure, but I’m enjoying it so far (ask me again in a month)

      The Smashwords formatting sounds scary, but I think I should be able to manage it. That stuff will be the easy bit. The hard part, as you say, is now getting the manuscript into shape.

  2. Congrats, Graeme! The cover’s great–did you design it yourself? Also, have you heard of Stephen King’s advice from ON WRITING where he suggests shelving your novel for at least a couple of months before tackling the rewrite? I know that sounds like an awful long time, but stepping away for awhile gives you the perspective necessary to catch flaws you might otherwise overlook due to being so close to your own work…

  3. Hi Phil,
    Thanks for the kind words. I love the cover. It was designed by a very talented guy called Stu (stu@gravitoncreations.com).
    I know what you are saying about having some distance before tackling the rewrite. In some respects, especially with the earlier chapters, when I wrote them so long ago, I do have a degree of distance. The early ones have needed by far the most work.
    I should finish my second draft today, at which point it will vanish into the ether and my beta readers will have it for a month. When their comments come back and I make changes, I’ll force myself to re-read the whole thing again, before it goes off to the copy editor.
    Thanks again for stopping by.
    Graeme

  4. Graeme, still ‘dropping-in’ to the site for the odd lunchtime read…absolutely love the cover for High Moon. Well done you! I might even tell the nephews and nieces it lives in my shed – my twisted uncle used to say a warped wart-hog lived in his Turf-shed when I was a nipper. Didn’t do me any harm…

    • Hey Colleen. Thanks for dropping by 🙂 I think that you should most definitely use the cover to scare your nephews and nieces. What are siblings children for, if not to wind up, feed outrageous stories to as fact, and scare the living daylights out of at every given opportunity.

Leave a Reply

 
