Goodbye 2011 – It’s been interesting…


So, another year is nearly over, and I think its fair to say that 2011 has been something of a mixed bag for me.

I started the year in a house that I’d been doing up for the last 5 years, in a seaside town called Clevedon, with a half finished conservatory that I didn’t have the money to finish. My novel had stalled and I’d not written anything for months. I’d just been sacked from my job.

Within 10 weeks, I’d moved into a rented house with no neighbours for half a mile in any direction, gotten a new job and found my groove with the book again. Six months after that, after an absolute nightmare house sale, and an equally nightmarish house move, I bought a seven acre smallholding in mid Wales, an hour and a half away from anyone I knew, and I had published my novel, High Moor.

So, while this year has been possibly the most stressful in living memory, I’ve also achieved more in 2011 than at any point in my life to date. I’ve achieved two of my major life goals – buy a smallholding so that I can become more self sufficient, and publish a novel.

There have been some low points. In addition to house selling stress, and unemployment stress, I have also lost some treasured pets and buggered my back up again due to two house moves in six months.

Apart from the smallholding and novel publication, there have been a few fairly significant high points.

When Gingernuts of Horror gave High Moor such a rave review (Click Here) I was very happy indeed. When the site listed me as one of their top ten discoveries of 2011 (Click Here) and listed High Moor as one of their top fifteen books of the year (Click Here) I was over the moon.

If I am honest, I could not be happier with the way that High Moor is being received in general. Its been out for six weeks, and the feedback I’ve been getting from real readers on Facebook, Goodreads and Amazon have thrilled me. That I am ending 2011 with High Moor currently at the top of the horror novel category in the Preditors and Editors readers poll (Click Here), and have a recommendation for a Bram Stoker award are things that a year ago would have seemed like a distant dream.

I loved having the telephone chat with Lori Titus and Tonia Brown for Flashes in the Dark Radio – you can hear the entire demented discussion by following this link (Click Here)

I enjoyed every second of Fantasycon, and met some incredible people. I’ve already booked my ticket for next year.

All in all, 2011 has been a hard year, but its also been an incredible journey that’s finished with me exactly where I wanted to be.

Happy New Year, and here’s hoping that all our 2012’s are good ones.

See you next year. I’m off down the pub for a few well deserved pints.

Graeme

~ by graemereynolds on December 31, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
