The Wages of Sin – Free short steampunk story


Last year, the rather wonderful Tonia Brown (who did the audio narration of Picnic and interviewed my for Flashes in the Dark radio a year or so back) contacted me and asked if I would be prepared to contribute a piece of fiction to help celebrate the second anniversary of her web-serial, Railroad.

Now, I’m a big fan of Tonia’s work and she’s been very supportive of me over the past few years, so I really couldn’t say no.

The only problem was that I had no clue what I was going to write. I mean, Steampunk isn’t exactly my genre of choice. Could I put werewolves in it?

Then a thought occurred to me. About three (or more) years ago, I was asked to write a chapter for a collaborative Jack the Ripper novel that ended up being cancelled. I’d not finished my chapter before the project got binned, but I’d written a fair chunk of it. I re-read it and found that some of the imagery and descriptions were quite good, and it was at least set in the right sort of time period.

So, after more than a few little nips, tucks and in some cases, a complete rewrite, I present to you the first piece of steampunk fiction I have ever written, and the first thing I’ve written outside of the High Moor universe for about two years.

Hope you enjoy it, and if you do, please consider donating some money to the Smile Train charity that Tonia is supporting with these celebrations.

You can read the story by following the link below

http://steampunktrain.blogspot.co.uk/2013/02/celebration-station-graeme-reynolds.html

~ by graemereynolds on February 19, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
